Reasoned Reading: Just The Arguments

Anybody who knows me will tell you that I greatly enjoy reading. It is an matter of learning and exploration that I believe should hold great importance for any person: believer or not. As such, I endeavor to read fairly widely, delving into subjects I wish to explore with more depth. One particular area of thought I enjoy reading is philosophy. I find the challenge to exercise my God-given faculties of reason compelling, and that is why I initially picked up the book Just the Arguments. What I discovered was a book that did just what it purported to do: lay out famous arguments in the history of Western thought. However, I quickly learned that this was not going to prove to be an easy read. The book assumes a collegiate level understanding of Western Philosophy, and is intended to accompany lectures at the undergraduate level. It is extremely broad in scope, covering arguments from several sub-disciplines within philosophy such as: metaphysics, epistemology, and philosophy of mind. Due to the great variety of material covered, a comprehensive review of the book is impossible to attempt in only one post. For that reason, I want to make two remarks for any interested potential readers. First, the book is not an introductory text. As said above, it assumes the reader has taken several collegiate courses in philosophy. If you are interested in learning more about philosophy as a whole, start somewhere else and work your way into this book. Second, though the authors do a decent job at remaining unbiased concerning many of the arguments, at times it felt as though they were trying to convince you of there own view, rather than simply expounding the argument as given. It is subtle, but it happens throughout the book. With that in mind, my overall thoughts concerning the book were that it was lively, though difficult at times. It does a good job of cutting through dense prose to unveil the key elements to many important ideas in the history of thought. Pick it up if you are a seasoned philosopher; and, as always, happy reading!

Rating: 8/10
Category: General Philosophy

Christian. Apologist. Undergrad. Missio Deo

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter
Unreached People Groups
